Make your own free website on

2010-2011 State Championship Cycle

Seeded into the Championship are 2010 champions Phillip Wang and Joel Bnawa,  the winne of the 201o Southern California Open (Enrico Sevillano), one player selected on the basis of rating, and four from the 2011 Candidates Tournament. Below is a list of players who will be invited to the Candidates, and of upcoming qualifying tournaments.

October 15-17 Los Angeles Open LAX
Westwood Fall Open November 14 West LA
November 25-28 American Open LAX


June 19-20

LACC Club Championship

Fernando Sevilla
David Portwood

July 3-5

50th Annual Pacific Southwest Open

Melikset Khachiyan
Joshua Gutman
Christian Tanaka
July 16-18 Pacific Coast Open Enrico Sevillano
Andranik Matikozyan
August 14-22 State Championship Jack Peters
Tim Taylor
Cyrus Lakdawala
Michael Casella
Ankit Gupta
Konstantin Kavutskiy
August 22 Westwood Summer Open Takashi Kurosaki
Show Kitagami
August 28 San Luis Obispo Cty Championship Daniel Giordani
Craig Faber
September 4-6 Southern Cal Open Jouaquin Banawa
Alexandre Kretchetov
Gregg Small
Vadim Kuryavtsev
Varun Krishnan
Michael Brown

Each event qualifies two players (highest scoring Southern California residents not previously qualified) except that 1) In the event of a tie, all tied players will advance; 2) A score of 60% is required to qualify; and 3) The SCCF Amateur, SCCF High School, SCCF Senior, and any one-day event will each have one qualifying spot.