body { font-family: "Times New Roman"; font-variant: normal; text-indent: 0in; widows: 2; font-style: normal; font-weight: normal; text-decoration: none; color: #000000; text-align: left; font-size: 12pt; font-stretch: normal; background-color: #ffffff; } @media print { body { padding-top: 1in; padding-bottom: 1in; padding-left: 1in; padding-right: 1in; } } p, .Normal { font-family: "Times New Roman"; margin-top: 0pt; font-variant: normal; margin-left: 0pt; text-indent: 0in; widows: 2; font-style: normal; font-weight: normal; text-decoration: none; color: #000000; text-align: left; margin-bottom: 0pt; margin-right: 0pt; font-size: 12pt; font-stretch: normal; }

North American Open: Lucky Six

The North American Open, Dec 26-29, was held at Ballys Las Vegas. There were nearly 600 entries, a big increase over last year, including 17 Grandmasters.  Here are the final top winners after all six rounds. 

OPEN FINAL (6 ROUNDS): Nikola Mitkov, Ildar Ibragimov (5).  Giorgi Kacheishvili, Jaan Ehlvest, Varuzhan Akobian, Vadim Milov, Alex Shabalov, Valerij Filippov, Vladimir Georgiev (4½).

UNDER 2200 FINAL: James Todd (5½), Vahe Mendelyan (5), Takashi Iwamoto, Vladimir Polyakin, Nicanor Navarro, Oleg Zaikov, John R Williams, Alen Melikadamian (4½).

UNDER 2000 FINAL: Adam Lischinsky, David Paulina (5½).  Zoran Djoric, Alan Bishop, Shafiq Alam, Gevork Vardanyan (5). 

UNDER 1800 FINAL: Manuel L Gonzalez (6), Yefim Bukh (5½), Armen Martirosyan, David Bennett, Dan Wright, Owen Li (5).

UNDER 1600 FINAL: Isaac Van Name (6).  Osias Ganotisi (5½).  Hector J Torres, Daniel Aisaka, Richard Selzler (5).

UNDER 1400 FINAL: Daniyar Imankulov (6).  George Krum, Scott Brehm, Antonn McCole, Alex Uyemura, David Hao, Loren Hudson, Sathvik Tantry (5).

UNDER 1200 FINAL: Giovanni Carreto (6).  Tom Whittier, Ryan S M Lee, Miodrag Kostic, Dean Mitrovich (5).

UNRATED FINAL: Vladislav Kucher (6).  Osvaldo Fierro, Cirdan Ellenwood (4½).

[CCA news release]

Zaloznyy,M (2083) - West,V (2002)

North American Open, Las Vegas, 2003


1.c4 g6 2.g3 Bg7 3.Bg2 d6 4.Nc3 e5 5.d3 f5 6.Nf3 Nc6 7.Bd2 Nf6 8.Rb1 0-0 9.b4 Ne7 10.Qb3 Kh8 11.c5 h6 12.Rc1 e4 13.cxd6 Qxd6 14.Bf4 Qb6 15.Na4 Qb5 16.Rc5 Qe8 17.dxe4 Nxe4 18.Rxc7 Nc6 19.0-0 g5 20.b5 Be6 21.Qa3 gxf4 22.bxc6 bxc6 23.Re7 Qg6 24.Nc5 Bd5 25.Nh4 Qd6 26.Bxe4 fxe4 27.Ne6 Qxe6 28.Rxe6 Bxe6 29.Ng6+ Kg8 30.Nxf8 Bxf8 31.Qc3 Bd5 32.gxf4 Kh7 33.Rb1 Bg7 34.Rb7 Rg8 35.Qf6 Kh8 36.Qg6 Bxa2 37.f5 1-0


Lindsborg Open: Chess in the Heartland

GM Alex Onischuk and IM John Donaldson tied for first with 6 1/2 from 9 in the 2nd  Lindsborg Rotary Open held December 17-23 in Lindsborg, Kansas.  Donaldson made his first GM norm and Anna Zatonskih made her second IM norm, narrowly missing a GM norm by half a point.  The tournament, which featured widespread community support, was a rare opportunity for American players to compete for international titles.  Chief organizer was Mikhail Korenman with Frank K. Berry directing. 

1. GM Alex Onischuk 2649 USA 6½

2. IM John Donaldson 2418 USA  6½

3. GM Yuri Shulman 2566  BLR  6

4. WGM Anna Zatonskih 2421 UKR   6

5. GM Igor Novikov 2592  USA  6

6. IM Mladen Vucic 2396  USA  6

7. FM Stephen Muhammad 2368  USA  5½

8. IM Ron Burnett 2437  USA   5½

9. IM William Paschall  2463  USA  5

10. IM Jesse Kraai 2443  USA   5

11. IM Melikshet Khachiyan 2481  ARM   4½

12. IM Osmand Palos 2327  BIH  4½

13. FM Dmitry Zilberstein 2330  USA  4½

14. Vivek Nambiar 2246  IND  4½

15. David Pruess 2351  USA  4½

16. Deepyaman Datta 2000  USA   4½

17. WGM Kamile Baginskaite 2365  USA   4½

...27 players, 9 round Swiss

-- Frank Berry

2002 National K-12 Championships: Record-Breaker 

The 2002 K-12 Grade Chess Championships, held on December  13-15 in Atlanta, GA, with 2107 players from 331 cities across the United States in attendance, set a new attendance record for this event, beating the record of 1626 set in 1999 in Louisville, KY. The tournament was a six round  tournament with 13 sections, one section for each grade level from Kindergarten to 12th grade.

The following players won the national chess championship for their grade. When more than one player is listed, the players  are co-champions: 

      12th: Samson Benen of New York, NY with 5½ points. This is Samson's third national grade championship. He won the 6th grade championship in 1996 and was a 7th grade co-champion in 1997. 

      11th: Patrick Mihelich of Carmel, IN and Daniel Tapia of Charlotte, NC with 5½ points 

      10th: Alen Melikadamian of Glendale, CA; Adam Maltese of New York, NY; Keaton Kiewra of Lincoln, NE; Griffin Gibson of Cardova, TN; Adam McIntosh of Salt Lake City,UT; Amit Jayakar of Miami, FL; and Harut  Keshishian of Los Angeles, CA; all with 5 points. 

      9th: Tatev Abrahamyan of Glendale, CA with 6 points. Tatev won the 8th grade championship last year. By winning this year's ninth grade championship, Tatev became the first girl ever to win clear first place in two consecutive national grade championships. 

      8th: Eric Rodriguez of Miami Beach, FL; Francisco Guadalupe of Satellite Beach, FL; and Magdalena Matyszewska of Southgate, MI with 5½ points each. 

      7th: Xiao Cheng of Atlanta, GA; Daniel Ludwig of Orlando, FL; and Alexander Dementiev of Huntington, WV with 5½ points each. 

      6th: Robert Lau of Mililani, HI with 6 points 

      5th: Jayson Lian of Manhattan, NY and Adam Kostrinsky of Alpharetta, GA with 6 points each. 

     4th: Alexander Heimann and his twin brother Mark Heimann, both from Wexford, PA, with 6 points each. 

      3rd: Max Yelsky of River Vale, NJ with 6 points. 

      2nd: Christopher Heung of Boca Raton, FL with 6 points. 

      1st: Atulya Shetty of Ann Arbor, MI and Daniel Rozovsky of West Hartford, CT with 6 points each. 

      K: Eric Liao of Randolph, NJ with 6 points. Eric played in and won the Kindergarden section last year as a pre-schooler. With his victory this year, Eric became the first player ever to win the same grade championship twice.

The scores of the top three players from each school in each grade were added together to form team scores. The following schools won the national team chess championship for their grade. When more than one school is listed, the schools are co-champions: 

      12th: Hunter College Campus School of New York, NY with 11½ points. 

      11th: Hunter College Campus School of New York, NY with 12½ points. 

      10th: Gulliver School of Miami, FL with 12 points. 

      9th: Saint Mark's School of Dallas, TX and Columbus Alternative High School of Columbus, OH with 12 points each. 

      8th: Jesuit School of New Orleans, LA with 13½ points. 

      7th: Sage School of Foxboro, MA with 13½ points 

      6th: MS 118 of the Bronx, NY and Oliveida Middle School of Brownsville, TX with 13 points each. 

      5th: Ocee Elementary of Alphareta, GA with 14 points. 

      4th: PS 6 of New York, NY with 15 points. 

      3rd: Hunter College Campus School of New York, NY with 15½ points. 

      2nd: Sage School of Foxboro, MA with 15 points. 

      1st: Americo Paredes Elementary School of Brownsville, TX with 11½ points. 

      K: Phoenix Country Day School of Phoenix, AZ with 12 points.

Tyler Hughes of Wheat Ridge, Colorado placed first in the K-6 Blitz Championship with a perfect score of 10 out of 10;  PS 6 of New York, NY and Saint George's of Spokane, WA were team co-champions in the K-6 blitz with 22 points each. Kazim Gulamali of Forest Park, GA took first in the K-12 Blitz, and Columbus Alternative High School of Columbus, OH won the K-12 blitz team championship with 26 points. The team of Gulamali and Stewart won the Bughouse Championship with a perfect 12 out of 12 score. For more information about the tournament please visit the tournament website at

[USCF news release]